Worried

K

kitsune

Hi everyone. I'm new here, but I have a few questions. My boyfriend has decided that he wants to fight professionally, and he's thinking of Muay Thai which he's tried before, or something simular.

So my first question is what should I expect? In attitude and everything, aside from him always training, should anything change?

And how do your girlfriends/wives/whatever handle it?

Sam

Senior Master
Reaction score
He's decided he wants to fight professionally - but he's a COMPLETE beginner?

Might just be a phase.

He shouldn't really change in any negative ways, assuming he's generally a good guy to begin with. Definitely expect to hear about his training a lot. I've also noticed that a lot of beginners tend to go through an "I am god, I can take on anything, my martial art can kill your martial art" phase... that isn't healthy and his instructor should kill it immediately.

Expect him to try to get you to train, too.

Some normal "Side Effects" but are not necessarily in every person (and not limited to):

Confidence
Strength
Agility
Humbleness
Focus

OP
K

kitsune

Thanks. But as for him being a beginner, he's a beginner when it comes to professionally fighting, but he's been fighting his whole life. That's why when he tells me he wants to start fighting professionally, I believe him.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
kitsune said:
Thanks. But as for him being a beginner, he's a beginner when it comes to professionally fighting, but he's been fighting his whole life. That's why when he tells me he wants to start fighting professionally, I believe him.

What if there was a man that wants to get married? He has dated women before. He thinks he would like to marry a girl that likes to read, but he has never dated a girl that likes to read before. He is thinking about walking in to a bookstore, finding a single girl, and proposing marriage to her.