Why?

Leo89

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
What would be the point of online learning (of any martial art really)?

I know when (for me) it comes down to first learning forms that I need someone to help me work out the kinks and help me do smoother, even when it comes to techniques, plus I really haven't met anyone that's ever taught themself.

I don't even know anyone that would learn under a self taught master, would you learn under one?

Not to mention you'd have no one to spar and I'm sure most dojangs would laugh and make you start at the bottom.

Plus who would you have to spar with?

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score

I know when (for me) it comes down to first learning forms that I need someone to help me work out the kinks and help me do smoother, even when it comes to techniques, plus I really haven't met anyone that's ever taught themself.

I don't even know anyone that would learn under a self taught master, would you learn under one?

Not to mention you'd have no one to spar and I'm sure most dojangs would laugh and make you start at the bottom.

If you already have a foundation in similar principles, and have a good partner to work with, you can learn something through online material. It will never be as good as having a live instructor, but you can get something out of it if it's well-designed.

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score

For the people looking to continue a system they are already in/similar to at a time when they aren't able to actively learn from an instructor. Definitely not ideal, but it has its place.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score

Some people feel that they ought to be able to learn whatever they want, even when they do not have access to a real instructor. So they look at this as an alternative method.

I always vehemently discourage such an approach.

JR 137

Grandmaster
Reaction score