Why compete in tournaments?

DrewTheTKDStudent1992

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have never competed in any tournament in my martial arts career.

I am 26 years old now. I’ve only been taking classes. And I got back into it over a year ago after college. I studied Taekwondo.

But I would like to know why many of you guys compete.

If either of you would like to share, would you please do so?

Thank you.

marques

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
You will feel the fear, the shame of being kicked in the *** in front of people...

For me, it was a matter of emotions management and test myself in a competive environment. As it was an internal competition (within the association), skill level of opponents could easily be years apart, so it could not be just about winning really, but more about seeing what I could do even in an inferiority position.

In training we can all be badass, but it is when things suck that we know our actual level and limitations.

My 50 cents. :)

JR 137

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I competed in my early 20s. Having played sports all my life, I liked competing. It was a different type of competition, but competing is competing. I liked training for competition.