Where to buy kali sticks?

Emptyhand

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I would like to buy some kali sticks and I am looking for suggestions for reputable martial arts suppliers that I should check out, either online or in south Florida in the Broward or Dade County areas?

Also, what type of stick would be best to buy?

I am a beginner and I stand approx. 6'2" and 225 lbs. if that makes a difference for the length and weight of the sticks.

Thank you.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
I would like to buy some kali sticks and I am looking for suggestions for reputable martial arts suppliers that I should check out, either online or in south Florida in the Broward or Dade County areas?

Also, what type of stick would be best to buy?

I am a beginner and I stand approx. 6'2" and 225 lbs. if that makes a difference for the length and weight of the sticks.

Thank you.

It matters what art you are studying, the Serrada guys use different length bastons than the Pekiti guys. Some art will use a standard, for me the apparently default length of 29" is just about correc, for the way we tend to measure it in Pekiti (armpit to tip of fingers), you are probably more of a 31"er given your height.

Regardless, before I'd highly recommend Kombat Instruments Ltd.
www.bloodsport.com

I don't recommend starting out with logs (large diameter sticks) early in your training, but again, it depends on what art you are pursuing.

JBrainard

Senior Master
Reaction score
Don't buy the 28" "rattan" escrima sticks from Karate Depot, and here's why: 1. I seriously doubt that they are real rattan. I can tell the difference cuz I usually train with sticks my instructor brings back from the PI. 2. I bought two. Same item, item number, etc. Yet the diameter of the two sticks are very different.
I was pretty dissapointed.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score