Whats the difference??

TheOriginalName

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hey there one and all -

I am relatively new to the MA of Karate and am wondering what the differences are between the different styles?
Personally i didn't look for a school which practised a particular style - i looked for one i felt comfortable in, so i really don't know what the differences are.

Cheers

thetruth

Black Belt
Reaction score
Given the massive amount of different styles out there I think you will have to be a little more specific as to which styles you are referring.

Cheers
Sam:asian:

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Lots of differences!

This wiki article actually has a decent comparison:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_karate_styles

Keep in mind, though, that there can be variations between one school of a given style and another.

I've seen some Shotokan schools that incorporate a good bit more "soft" techniques than other Shotokan schools, and some Wado schools that incorporate more "hard" techniques than other Wado schools.

stoneheart

Purple Belt
Reaction score
What I have found is that individual instructor differences is more important than style. There are actually some Shotokan people who teach bunkai and you can find plenty of Isshin-ryu schools who practice kicking high. If you go by generalizations, Shotokan does not practice bunkai and Okinawan systems teach you to kick low only.

Style is only a starting point. Don't be too surprised to see exceptions to the rule out there.

Boomer

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Excellent point, Stone. Try to avoid what I call "style shopping", and look for a great teacher/coach that has something that you like.

OP
T

TheOriginalName

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I haven't checked out the posted links yet - will get to that - but just wanted to attempt to clarify .......