What is it with teachers?

CatNap

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I've been looking for Bak Mei in my city, Boston. Two people who teach the style, Larry Wong of Nam Pai in Chinatown and Wayne Chin of God knows where - don't teach it. I should say, they're not accepting students, so I'm told. I heard that through Larry Wong about Sifu Chin. Nam Pai charges $90 a month for five days a week, but not in Bak Mei, not sure when it's taught but it's not five days a week - you have to pay that cost for everything you don't want to learn whether you study for an hour with him or every day during th week. If you don't live in Boston or work there - too bad, no exceptions. Wayne Chin - who knows?

I'm told it's a "Chinese thing" not to teach the public, which I think is crap. Nam Pai does teach but they won't admit to what until you pay for everything whether you don't need it or want it. I think it's not wanting to teach women or those that don't earn enough to line your pocket. I'm a good student, loyal, I don't want to start a school - I just love martial arts. Why do you suppose people act like bastards without even taking a moment to meet you to decide if you're worth it?

Rant off......

MA-Caver

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
If they're acting that way... do you REALLY want to learn from them? I wouldn't. I'd find someone I can learn from with whom I can get along with and isn't being a jerk or has the attitude(s) you're describing.
You're a paying customer when you're signing your check as well as the contract. You should know exactly what it is you're paying for, you should get exactly what you want to be paying for. If not... walk away and find someone else (qualified) who will.

Steel Tiger

Senior Master
Reaction score