what could i do?

J

Josh

Hi folks. I'm about to start Jujitsu again. And there's definately gonna be some randori. Now, of course. I am not good at systema and i'll wanna just be jujitsu like, but now that i've encountered Russian Martial Art, i definately wanna utilize it in Jujitsu class. Now please, PLEASE, if you can briefly explain how i could go about doin this, it would be awesome. Like, what are some tips i could use in randori. Like if they guy grabs my gi with both hands, standard grab, i mean, i know that YA"LL would do some kind of breathing, moving maybe not even touching the guy, just moving thing to get him off balance, and then do your thing. Well, i'm out. Later folks.

jellyman

Green Belt
Reaction score
What to do?

1) Buy holds, releases and attacks video, maybe groundfighting video (some nice leglocks and half-gaurd work there, as well as some off-beat 'pain compliance'). Practice Practice Practice.

2) Hope none of it gets you in trouble for breaking some rule if it's BJJ, because the rules are myriad and vary from org to org. If it's JJJ, you may never get an opportunity to improvise anything, depending on the instructor (they're all different too, but some really hate you making stuff up - I say this from experience).

However, you're going to have to take the info from 1) and figure out what about it works, and generalize (of course).

There's guys I've met at VV's who do both BJJ and systema, so it shouldn't be hard to reconcile the two. But IIRC you don't have an instructor, so the challenge will be a big one for you.

jellyman

Green Belt
Reaction score
For lapel grabs, (which are not on the tapes) I would use the principle espoused in holds, releases, and attacks - when grabbed, leave the ocntact intact and move around the point of contact. You can turn a lapel grab into a wrist lock pretty easily. Granted, it can be escaped in a straight forward manner, but this forces him to let go, which in turn opens up some room for you to move.