Vibram Fivefinger Shoes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sensei Payne

Black Belt
Reaction score
I haven't trained in them in the dojo, but they are awesome for going to places like seminars and tournaments and such...

I personally wouldn't want students to wear them in class unless there was a medical reason...but outside of the traditional enviroment, I don't see why you couldn't wear them.

MA-Caver

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I've been training in Shotokan karate for three months now and it is hard on the feet... very hard! So my questions is has anyone trained using Vibram Fivefinger shoes? They are a great training shoe that covers a broad spectrum of physical fitness activities.

http://ergonomics.about.com/od/running/fr/Five_Fingers_Shoes.htm
You say that it's hard on the feet and that should tell you something right there. Our feet are very pampered and people do not walk as much as they should/could/would. We've insoles and cushioned socks and all these wonderful things to make walking more comfy... but it doesn't toughen up our feet as it should.
We also abuse our feet with poorly fitted shoes and other types of foot-wear.
Get used to walking around barefoot around the home. Then in your yard (if not in an apt.... if so go to the park but watch for dog mines).
The five finger shoes I've seen others wear them and podiatrists have said good things about them. But yeah I wouldn't wear them for MA training, in or out of the dojo.

Sensei Payne

Black Belt
Reaction score