Train with your dog?

Old CJ

White Belt
Reaction score
Does anyone train with your dog? My 10 month old wants to involve himself in my training. I'm thinking of working him into my routine.
Does anyone do this? Does it help? I'm new at Karate and the dog is a pup so we can learn together. Am I nuts?

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
My dog goes crazy whenever I work out. He gets excited, barks, and just taps his front feet (he can't move his back) as I exercise. I've learned that a good way to stay active is when I see him bored it means I haven't exercised recently and I should do so, which helps us both.
I've followed some yoga practitioners where their dogs also stick around as they do yoga. Honestly, just practice around your dog, and in breaks (ie: as soon as you finish a kata) play with your dog for a few minutes, then go to your next thing, and they'll be very happy to encourage you to train.

OP
O

Old CJ

White Belt
Reaction score
My dog goes crazy whenever I work out. He gets excited, barks, and just taps his front feet (he can't move his back) as I exercise. I've learned that a good way to stay active is when I see him bored it means I haven't exercised recently and I should do so, which helps us both.
I've followed some yoga practitioners where their dogs also stick around as they do yoga. Honestly, just practice around your dog, and in breaks (ie: as soon as you finish a kata) play with your dog for a few minutes, then go to your next thing, and they'll be very happy to encourage you to train.
Thanks! That's good words.

Badhabits

Yellow Belt
Reaction score