taijidao

DaPoets

Green Belt
Reaction score
This past weekend I studied taijijian extremely hard for days... eat, slept, and everything taijijian from Thursday night through to Sunday afternoon and practicing a lot everyday now to ensure I avoid my up coming issue. I am taking taijidao this coming weekend (it's just how the classes got schedule in these two differnet TTCS locations and countries....). taijijian I learned at the international center in canada, and now taijidao I'll be learning here in the states.

Question is, is there any advice on taijidao from anyone? Things I should keep in mind? Things to look for? Things to ask?

I'll have to try very hard to keep taijijian and taijidao as seperate as possibile and yet allow them to improve each other and my taijiquan.

Thank you all in advance!

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Jian and Dao technique is quite different, so you shouldn't be really confusing them. I expect the pattern of your forms will be rather different. It's not just a matter of picking up a different weapon and doing the same form.

Don't try to do too much too soon. If you've just learned something (jian), you might want to give yourself time to develop that and make sure you are solid with it, before you pile something else on top of it. Remember: the more you learn, the more you need to split your time between different things, so the less time you spend on each thing. It's just reality of training. So recognize what pace works well for you and don't try to do too much too soon.

OP
DaPoets

DaPoets

Green Belt
Reaction score