Stress and Fighting.

OP
P

pineapple head

So...nobody disagrees with this guy!:confused:

OP
P

pineapple head

Sorry guys regarding the Santa, but i am starting to get exited for Christmas.:)

Gary.

Les

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I've had a quick look at this article, and he certainly makes it sound good.

This is a subject I have some slight knowledge of, so I may agree or disagree with all or part of what he says.

When I've had time to read it in depth I'll post my 'opinion', but it'll be just that, an opinion, not 'The Gospel According to Les'

(I'm busy writing that at the moment actually.)

Les

OP
K

Kenpo Yahoo

Mr. Mills was teaching a camp in Illinois at which he introduced me to the idea of REALITY training. I say introduced because I thought I knew what reality training was, but I was wrong. Mr. Mills wanted me to defend a grab using Raking Mace so he partnered me up with a guy who was about 6'2" 260-280 and we worked the technique. No big deal. The next part of the Drill Mr. Mills had Jim grab my gi and push me backwards and try to keep going. The first several times we did it, Jim ran me from one side of the school to the other and almost out the front window. I was trying so hard not to fall backwards that I couldn't get set to do my technique. Mr. Mills, after seeing my frustration, gave me several suggestions that worked like a charm.

After this camp anytime I work out with someone we try to contemplate the reality of the implied situation and base our responses off of that.

I think the article while rather simplistic in its categorizations is fairly accurate.

Have a practice buddy come in full tilt with a push or grab and see what you can do, adapt from here.

OP
P

ProfessorKenpo

Originally posted by Kenpo Yahoo