Stick making

A

angrywhitepajamas

Does any one have an idea of what it takes to make escrima sticks. I have no wood working experience, and am tired of running back and forth to the ma supply store for another box when they all break. And does any one know if the wood that home depot has instock would be appropriate to use??

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by angrywhitepajamas
Does any one have an idea of what it takes to make escrima sticks. I have no wood working experience, and am tired of running back and forth to the ma supply store for another box when they all break. And does any one know if the wood that home depot has instock would be appropriate to use??

Personally, I do not use wood for training nor do we allow it in the class I teach. Why? The wood shatters and splinters. Peeling a splinter from someone's face and or taking them to the emergency room is not my idea of training time well spent. The rattan does puff up, and if you are worried about how long they last, tape them with electrical tape ( Most any tape should work ), before use. This will add a layer of protection around them. If you need to add more tape, this is fine, just remember it will change the weight of the stick and also the impact of the stick fell different. It is nto for everyone. yet if stick durability is your concern, try taping rattan canes. (* Do not tape wood, as I mentioned is splinters and flies *)

Just My Recommendation
:asian:

pesilat

3rd Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The most common type of stick used in FMA is rattan. Traditionally it was used because it grows naturally and plentifully in the Philippines so it was cheap and readily available. Walk into the jungle, cut yourself a stick for five, and start training.