Shorin Ryu

Manny

Senior Master
Reaction score
Talk to me about Shoryn Ryu Karate please. Tell me how this karate was worn and what are it's strong points and the weak ones please.

Thank you.

Manny

Noah_Legel

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Talk to me about Shoryn Ryu Karate please. Tell me how this karate was worn and what are it's strong points and the weak ones please.

Thank you.

Manny

That is a very broad question. Here is a brief history as I understand it and some stylistic concepts, but I am relatively new to the style so if anyone has more information or finds something that I am saying is incorrect, please correct me.

Shorin-Ryu was founded by Chibana Sensei in the 1930's when the karate masters of the time were developing names for their styles. Chibana Sensei called his style "Shorin-Ryu" to indicate that it was the Shaolin style of fighting ("Shorin" is the Okinawan pronunciation of "Shaolin") he learned in China combined with his knowledge of Shuri-Te that he learned under Itosu Sensei.

The style itself utilizes natural stances and breathing, direct movements, evasion, and instantaneous power. Everything about the style is designed to be quick and move at angles based on the concepts of speed to develop power and evasion to avoid violence. The techniques included in the style (at least as I am taught it in Kobayashi Shorin-Ryu) range from basic strikes, to knees and elbows, to eye gouges and throat crushing, to grappling and throwing. As a style it is very well-rounded and its weaknesses, like most arts, are going to come from the capabilities of the instructor, not the style itself.

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Arguably, Shorin-ryu is the least homogeneous of the Okinawan styles (Shorin, Goju, Uechi). There are many offshoots (Isshin-ryu for example is often classified as a Shorin-ryu sub-system), but the main lineages in which Shorin-ryu stylists seem to divide themselves number three by my count.

• Matsumura
  • Chibana
  • Kyan