Self-Taught Martial Artist

Panshumei

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey everyone, who else on here has self-taught themselves all of the skills they know? I know it's not the best and effective way of learning, but I got a lot of knowledge and techniques from just doing so. Anyone else here in my boat?

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hey everyone, who else on here has self-taught themselves all of the skills they know? I know it's not the best and effective way of learning, but I got a lot of knowledge and techniques from just doing so. Anyone else here in my boat?
Simple question, how do you know that you have" skills" that work ?

It's like learning to play soccer with out a goal keeper,

OP
Panshumei

Panshumei

White Belt
Reaction score
Not 100% sure, but I've been training with my brother every Saturday for the passed 2 months, I follow DVD training on Wing Chun, Shaolin Kung Fu, and Jeet Kune Do. When we train I use some of the skills learned in our sparring sessions, they seem to be pretty effective. Ultimately I know that I won't know the full effectiveness of my skills unless I go up against other fighters, but I have a sparring video I made if you would like to analyze it on YouTube. (Totally Optional)

JR 137

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Simple question, how do you know that you have" skills" that work ?

It's like learning to play soccer with out a goal keeper,
Better analogy is playing without teammates and defenders. Someone could develop very good PK skills without a keeper. Tie a few frisbees to the crossbar and posts (where they’re hanging inside the goal) and try to hit them. Hitting them consistently (with acceptable ball speed) easily translates into PK skills.

I’m on a tangent, but yeah, I agree with what you’re saying.

JR 137

Grandmaster
Reaction score