Rowdy 4 year olds in class

DavidCC

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Once a week we have a 30-minute class for 3-5 yr olds. I've been assissting the Instructor for the last 2 months, and I am amazed at how much these kids can learn and do at their age.

We've got 2 new kids in class,they are cousins, a boy and a girl, and they are both almost 5 yrs old.

The boy is very hyper, he can't stand still and paying attention for more than a minute is very difficult for him. _every_ class we have to correct him for the same things - don't pull up the grass (while we might be sitting on teh grass), stand still, pay attention... the girl is not as wild but he infects her with his rowdiness.

Now, the class is full of 3,4,5 yr old kids and they all at one time or another need to settle down. But this little boy is every class every time.

Can anyone offer any advice as to how to get through to these kids, to settle them down some and encourage them to act more appropriately? I see the Inst. working with them and I'm not sayign the HE doesn't know how to handle them... I'm just looking for more info that I might be able to add to what he is already doing.

I know some of you are probably thinking "4 is too young", I respect your opinion but it will not be helpful here so please, if that is what you are going to post, then don't bother :)

One final piece of info... the girl is my step-daughter. So I see these kids every day, and I can tell you the boys' behavior is all day every day
:boing1::boing1::boing1::boing1::boing1::boing1::boing1::boing1::boing1:

TigerWoman

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I used to help in the 4 year old class with my instructor/master. He would get them into a routine. Always sit on your square, sit and not roll around, no talking, yes sir said, really drilled that in. If they became "rowdy" or unresponsive they had to stand with their eyes closed and "settle down".