Registering for a tournament in a belted system when you have no belt

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
What is the protocol for registering for a tournament in a belted system, when you yourself don't have a martial arts belt.

For example, let's say you do wrestling and you sign up for a submission grappling tournament. Or let's say you do Muay Thai and sign up for a Taekwondo tournament. Or let's say you train at the Skribs Kicking Academy and you sign up for a Tang Soo Do tournament. (You see where I'm going with this?)

In this situation, how do you sign up? Do you just google "average time to each belt in Tang Soo Do", say "I've been training for 2 years, that's probably equal to 4th gup, so I'll register as a green belt"?

Or alternatively, if I were running the Skribs Kicking Academy (it probably won't be called that, but we'll see), and we were planning on attending the tournament as a school, could I post a chart and say:
  • If you started in or after February, white belt
  • If you started between October and January, yellow belt
  • ...and so on

gyoja

2nd Black Belt
Supporting Member
Reaction score
What is the protocol for registering for a tournament in a belted system, when you yourself don't have a martial arts belt.

For example, let's say you do wrestling and you sign up for a submission grappling tournament. Or let's say you do Muay Thai and sign up for a Taekwondo tournament. Or let's say you train at the Skribs Kicking Academy and you sign up for a Tang Soo Do tournament. (You see where I'm going with this?)

In this situation, how do you sign up? Do you just google "average time to each belt in Tang Soo Do", say "I've been training for 2 years, that's probably equal to 4th gup, so I'll register as a green belt"?

Or alternatively, if I were running the Skribs Kicking Academy (it probably won't be called that, but we'll see), and we were planning on attending the tournament as a school, could I post a chart and say:
  • ...and so on