Quitting the Biz :(

C

clapping_tiger

I have decided today that I have to quit, not the martial arts but working at the school as the admissions director. Unfortunately, as much as I loved it in beginning it has now become something I dread doing. I always told myself when I accepted the job that if it interfered with my training and my love for learning I would quit. I have been wrestling with this for a few months and have even taking some time off, but things haven’t changed. I am going to once again just be a student. Sure I will help out when needed, but I no longer can deal with "having" to be there all the time. Also it is not like I wasn't successful, I had about an 85% enrollment rate, which is pretty high for this industry. I just miss the days of working out, limping home, and going back because I want to be there, not because I am required to be there. The part I love the most is working with the other students and maybe teaching them something they have never done before, or helping them see something they were unable to see before, giving them ideas and such. I was an assistant before accepting this and really enjoyed it, but once again if I go the instructor route, I will be forced to come in, regardless of my mood, or how I am feeling. Another thing this job has shown me is that I would not ever want to own my own school, it is a lot more work than one would think. I worked hand in hand with the Owner/Head instructor on many things and I'll tell you this, there is A LOT more to owning a school than just knowing the art. I have a lot of respect for anyone who can run a successful school, and keep their love of the art alive, and find time to train and keep up on their material. In an hour I have to break the news to my instructor and I know that he will respect my decision, he is a fair and understanding man, but I still can't help but feel that in a way I am letting him down. But I have to follow my heart and my heart just is not in the business si