Question regarding ATA Belt Testing

ATAStudent83

White Belt
Reaction score
I took my son and tried out a class at an ATA school last night. He is in the Tiny Tigers and I am in the Adult class. While asking questions last night I found that all the colored belts learn the same forms in class and take a belt promotion test every 3 months. So a white going for orange is going to do the same form progression as a brown going for red. Does this sound normal. In my experience the test is supposed to get harder as you progress but I have little experience with TKD

TrueJim

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
OP
A

ATAStudent83

White Belt
Reaction score
Thanks and this is what I thought it should be but the school I went to last does it differently. I was told the movement I need to know for the December test is a sequence taken from Brown Belt. Its not the whole sequence though just roughly 12ish moves from that sequence. and This is what all colored belts need to know for promotion. My son only needs to know 5 moves but he is 5 and in the tiny tigers. I was off to the side learning the sequence with a black belt leadership program student and he disagreed with this philosophy but it wasn't his decision to make

OP
A

ATAStudent83

White Belt
Reaction score
I just watched the Choong Jung 1 sequence and can confirm that this is the sequence being taught for belt testing but it its only about 20 seconds starting with the first high low block

TrueJim

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
How interesting! Maybe your school teaches just the first part of the poomsae first, then the school has you test on just that first part; then the school teaches you the second part of the poomsae, then has you test on just the first and second part, etc.?

Or do you suppose that you only have to learn just 12 of the 44 moves, and then you get promoted to red belt without knowing the entire poomsae?

msmitht

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score