"old" vs "new"

stickarts

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am interested in opinions on the "older" modern arnis format (more basics, 6 count drill, etc...) vs. the "newer" format (lots of tapi tapi, ground fighting), especially from folks that have trained in Modern Arnis for the past 10 years or more who have experienced both.
Do you currently train primarily in one or the other, or do you mix both?
What do you think the pro's and con's are of each?
Do you train equally in the anyo's?
What do you think makes for a good training curriculum?
I am pretty new to Martial talk so i apologize if this has already been discussed in the past!
I look forward to hearing everyones input!!
Thanks so much!

OP
stickarts

stickarts

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
ps. Also, what direction do you see your training going in the future?

Dan Anderson

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Originally posted by stickarts
I am interested in opinions on the "older" modern arnis format (more basics, 6 count drill, etc...) vs. the "newer" format (lots of tapi tapi, ground fighting), especially from folks that have trained in Modern Arnis for the past 10 years or more who have experienced both.
Do you currently train primarily in one or the other, or do you mix both?
What do you think the pro's and con's are of each?
Do you train equally in the anyo's?
What do you think makes for a good training curriculum?
I am pretty new to Martial talk so i apologize if this has already been discussed in the past!
I look forward to hearing everyones input!!
Thanks so much!

Hey Frank,

1. I train in both except for the ground fighting which I have a bit of disagreement with.
2. I use the anyos for translation exercises for empty hand work. They're fine but not a heavy part of my school's training.