Of handswords, bones, and wedges

E

Elfan

Well I normaly make the stereotypical karate chop sword but with my fingers bent slighly. I strike with the tense musculature on the side of my hand. However, I was talking to someone about this recently and he angles his hand to the side slightly and strikes with a triangular wrist bone.

I'm not an expert in anatomey but I belive he was refering to the pointy one in the upper right of this picture: http://www.bartleby.com/107/illus220.html

So my question is, how do you make a handsword, and in particular does anyone strike with one of the wrist bones?

OP
J

Jill666

I have been to a DKI seminar, and did not see the wristbone used- which doesn't mean they don't use it. However, I use both sides of the hand, my swordhand, striking with the meaty outside to a "softer target" like the throat or inner forearm for example. The ridgehand I use against the throat as well, usually going through the uke, like a clothesline. Good for groin strikes and for "scooping" the back of the knee to throw, etc.

Another strike I love is the ridgehand into the throat from the front, like a spear along the side "sawing" forward into the carotid. If you use both hands simultaneously, pass the throat on both sides, then use the thumbjoint (the very bottom of the thumb when it's laid alongside the hand) as a strike to the back of the neck by jerking the hands back. There are pressure points there that can cause very serious consequences. You can then pull the face down into your knee or something if you want.

Of course, we've all watched the Stooges, I'm sure and know the two-finger eye-poke and it's counter, the shuto-covers-the-nose tecknique:boing2:

I have very small (ok, bony) wrists and I'm not sure I'd want to use that bone unless to a very soft target, since the risk of injury would be a concern. Anyone else use this & what for?

OP
A

Arithon