New Kenpo student,frustrated,concerned,overwhelmed and feeling lost.

hemi

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I’m not sure what the real point of this post is other than to put it down on paper and let the world see it. Or maybe to just vent, or even to see if others out there feel as I do or did feel this way at this stage of training. I am still new in American Kenpo and let me first say I love it. But I am to a point that I feel very overwhelmed, confused, frustrated, and sometimes just plain lost.

I have only been in Kenpo close to five months now. In that short time I have reached yellow belt, the 2nd belt in our system and hope to reach advanced yellow belt next month. In these last five months I have been exposed to a lot of new information. And some, that just got very rusty. Such as Front snap, roundhouse, thrusting front snap, thrusting side kick, back kick and others. So I am doing what I can to get up to speed and have correct form with the kicks but also I am being bombarded with new information every week. Things like GRIP OF DEATH, OBSCURE WING, THRUSTING SALUTE, RAINING CLAW, CROSSING TALON, LOCKING HORNS, DELAYED SWORD, DEFLECTING HAMMER, CAPTURED TWIGS, THE GRASP OF DEATH, SCRAPING HOOF, SHIELDING HAMMER, CRASHING WINGS, and CIRCLING WING. Then you add the pressure of Short Form one, Coordination set, blocking set one, and the Kenpo Salute. And now we get to Right Neutral bow, Left Neutral bow, Cat stance, 45 Cat stances. Dang I feel like my head is about to explode.