Need help with streching and speed

Trax

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am new to this web site. I am 44 and about 230lbs. I starting training in Koei Kan with my 12 year old son. I would like to know what I can do to increase my flexibilty and my speed. I would like to be able to stay up with my son when we sparr.

bluekey88

Senior Master
Reaction score
Welcome to MT!

I'm afraid there's no magic bullet to conquer the twin foes fo flexibility and speed...diet and excercise are where it's at.

for felxibility, you need to have a smart stretching routine that you do. check out the Helath and fitness section for good resources and advice on that. Speed comes from increasing your strength and maintaining a healthy weight (I'm about yout same side). Strength training with some intense anaerobic cardio activity (sprints, jump rope, etc) are gtood for that...along with eatign the sorts of thigns that will fuel your body and prepare it for training.

Again, lots of good resources in the health and fitness section.

Most of all, enjoy your training. :)

Peace,
Erik

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First off welcome and enjoy the site.

The best thing is slowly let your body control the strecthing until it is ready and then go all out!!
icon14.gif
Serious it just takes time and effort and one day you will get there.

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
Howdy, and welcome.
There is no silver bullet for stretching. The only way to gain flexibility is to stretch several times per week, and persevere. It will take months before you see the results.

I do light stretching every day, and it is going slow.
After a couple of months, I feel the difference, but there is still a lot of work to do. I hope to one day be able to do a side split, but for now I am not even closer. I am improving though.