need advice on where to post

aquadancer

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone.
I am new to martial arts/self-defense. I went on the internet looking for some self-defense help, and found a large website which I read thoroughly. I learned a number of useful things from the standpoint of mental behaviors. There was nothing to help me physically defend myself, not even a few moves to break a hold, or things that might help me break away and run. In the end I became confused and frightened by the site. So I have some questions about what the site said, and would like input from folks who know more than I. I also need input as to what self-defense training would work for me given some of my needs and situation.
I don't know where to post these questions. I am an older lady, and will probably post in the woman's section at some point, but right now I want the benefit of as much input as I can get from all.
The general self-defense forum seems to be just for folks in the protection careers, and I am wanting self-defense, not a specific martial arts, and so on. Thanks for any help.
aquadancer

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Womans section, General Self Defense, and General Martial Arts would be my suggestions.

OP
A

aquadancer

White Belt
Reaction score
Thank you, Bob Hubbard, for this information. In 'general self-defense' I only saw sub-forums for people in the protection biz, such as police. Am I missing something? I did go ahead and post some of my concerns in 'general martial arts'.
aquadancer

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
There is a large "general self defense" forum for general questions, then there are the sub-forums under the larger forum for police, security, etc.

Welcome aboard!

BloodMoney

Green Belt
Reaction score