My teacher tested me for black belt, but was it too soon.. Thoughts?

Myers

White Belt
Reaction score
Greetings, allow me to better explain the topic.

I've been practicing TSD MDK for almost 5 years. I trained under a new master/new school for the past 2 years as a red belt (my old school moved). He is a highly regarded master and is a direct student of our founder. He is as "real" as it gets, his judgement is always sound, he trains and teaches with extreme passion and accuracy, he's as elite and legit as you can get.

I say all this because I'm confused as to why he would test me for black belt before knowing all of the "required" material. Typically, the school travels to national events that hold BB testing, and 4 months ago I was told I would be doing the same (in early '15).

Fast forward to last week where I was expecting to take my final pre-test. I was actually handed papers for black belt and congratulated. I confirmed with him that these papers were correct (I was told months ago I would be testing for BB early next yr.)

At the risk of sounding full of myself, I'm one of the hardest working students in the school, I'm an adult and I take my training very seriously. I give 100% spirit and proper attitude every class and only rarely am I spoken to for tweaking my techniques. My master has affirmed this many times with me.

He has never tested anyone who wasn't ready, meaning... fully knowledgeable of all requirements, attendance, techniques and proper respect. For some reason I was tested without knowing my final form. What's even more strange is I was asked to do the form at testing with other red belts. I had to tell him I was never taught, for a moment he appeared confused but quickly dismissed it and asked me to sit down. Testing was 3 hours long, and we were deep into it at this point, it simply could be a mistake he made, forgetting about my level of knowledge.