Muay Thai

breeno

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've had a background in Karate (I was a promising student, but left after a year).

Im looking to get into Muay Thai, it seems like a fun martial art, and will no doubt keep me fit. It will also give me the benefit of knowing if there is an unavoidable confrontation that as someone else has said on here, can end the fight quickly.

I've emailed a couple of places, and I'm looking to bring 4 or 5 friends with me, as they have all expressed their interest (especially the couple that have been jumped a few times, and had no clue what to do).

I was just wondering in Australia, what the general prices would be?

Also wondering what I would expect in my first lesson or so, and how long it should take before they want me to spar?

Also, would most places just say, in the summer, as I play a lot of cricket, would I be able to say to them "Can I just take it easy during the summer, as I can't afford an injury for my outside sport".

One thing I love about martial arts is that it's not just an art, it's almost a way of life.

Thats my rant!

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
The answer to all of your questions: ask the teacher.

Seriously. These things vary from gym to gym, teacher to teacher.
Any answer we give to those questions will be rather pointless. Only the teacher of a gym can answer those questions, and only for his gym.

Akira

Green Belt
Reaction score
At the risk of giving a pointless answer..

Where in oz are you?

First lesson, and the first few weeks/months will focus on techniques, they'll watch how you kick, punch, knee etc then tell you you're doing it completely wrong and teach you correct technique. You'll mostly be doing pad and bag work and learning new techniques and practicing and practicing and practicing them.