Missing Work

Ping898

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Does anyone ever feel guilty about calling in sick to work?

I've picked up some sort of virus and my allergies picked up so I've missed the last 2 and a half days of work and I realized that whenever I call out of work, whether I am sick or not (work doesn't distinguish between sick or vacation time, it is all lumped together) I always feel guilty about missing work. I have a job that is important, but it isn't for the most part time critical, one day won't ruin anything. I don't have a life altering job, I am not a doctor or emergency personel or anything so it is not the end of the world if I miss work.

I find when I am out of work I still end up spending a few hours at least doing work via e-mail and other things and almost stresses me out if I don't. I am not a work-a-holic, I jump out of work the second I can at the end of the day :) but I always seem to have problems on the days I miss work.

Anyone else experience the same thing?

crushing

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I feel ya Ping898. I see your profile says you're a computer geek. Same here. I feel guilty early on but it passes. I try to think of myself as protecting my co-workers from my sickness, and I like to think they appreciate that. If I hear a co-worker hacking and sneezing and stuff, I'd wish that person stayed home.

I can't help but fire up the VPN connection, check email, project status, etc.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Totally guilty. I can't bear to miss a day of work.

Last night I had a long string of scheduled events to work on, and didn't return home until around 4:30 AM. I didn't have to show up at all today...my counterpart didn't...but went in anyway.

Around the time I was getting ready to leave, a different colleague approached me with an unusual situation in another city. I stuck around, even though I was dead tired.