Martial artist Police officers?

ShotoSan

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey all, Im just wondering; how many of you are police officers. When I graduate (gr 12 now), I want to go to college, and eventually become a police. Is it a good life style for a martial artist?

Id really like to talk to a police officer here if there is one, see what I can learn... /cheers!

Tgace

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Depends on where you work. Some departments pay well, some less so. Shift work, rotating schedules....it can also be very rewarding.

V

Vadim

Hi ShotoSan. I am currently a police officer. I commend you for wanting to be a police officer. Make sure that you behave in an appropriate manner and dont get caught up with hanging with a bad crowd that can lead you to making bad choices and ultimately ruin your chances to get on a department.

Just know that police work is not what you see on TV. Leads and the bad guy are not always developed and caught within the half hour or hour. Keep your head grounded and use common sense. Pursue as much advanced schooling as you can. Some departments will give you a better pay rate based on your education.

As far as being a martial artist while on the job just remember that police work deals with swing shifts. You may or may not be assigned to a permanent shift, but may alternate from days to middles to night shift. The length of the shift may also vary from eight to twelve hours. It is possible to practice martial arts but as with anything it requires mental discipline to stay consistent and train. Good luck with your chosen path. If you have any more questions ask away.

-Vadim

T

TonyM.

Don't expect to find a martial haven. When I was a Correctional Officer there was only two of us out of eighty someodd that had any training.

GAB

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

Back when I was on the Job it was not very often you found someone who was involved and if they were, usually Armed Forces related.