Make Sake at Home

crushing

Grandmaster
Reaction score
From the linked article in the OP:

Because of its alcohol content and the lack of hops and carbonation, most people refer to sake as “rice wine.” This is a contradiction in terms. Wines are always made from fruit, specifically the grape. Beer always contains hops, some kind of grain, and usually some amount of carbonation. Sake fits into neither one of these categories, though if you twisted my arm I’d tell you that it would go in the beer category.

Personally (I'm not an expert though!), I would put sake firmly in the beer category based it being a fermented grain drink. In various brewing and beer related books and articles I've read recently it's been stated that in the thousands of years of beermaking, hops is a relatively new ingredient. Through the ages beer has been made with herbs, roots and other flavoring ingredients.

Anyway, once I get a few batches of other beers under my belt (in more than one way, I suppose :) ) I think I may try brewing up some sake. So thanks much for posting this.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Personally (I'm not an expert though!), I would put sake firmly in the beer category based it being a fermented grain drink.

I would put sake firmly in a small cup and drink it... warm of course :D

I don't know about Japan and how it categorizes alcoholic beverages but in China there are only two categories based on the English translation... Beer and Wine...

No matter what it is...if it ain't beer :drinkbeer...it's wine :drink2tha

OP
kegage

kegage

Green Belt
Reaction score
Crushing: Your very welcome. Your right about hops being a relatively new ingredient. The ancient Egyptians brewed beer from bread. I think that's the oldest known, but I am not really sure.