Looking for a Taekwondo mentor

Status
Not open for further replies.

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I'd like to start my own unaffiliated Taekwondo school. One prerequisite that I have for myself is that I have a Taekwondo Master in mentorship over me, at least 5th degree, preferably at least 6th degree. I'm starting to put feelers out to look for a mentor. If anyone knows of any groups I should look into, I'd appreciate it. Or if it's something you're interested in helping me out with, please reach out to me. I'd really appreciate it.

JowGaWolf

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I'd like to start my own unaffiliated Taekwondo school. One prerequisite that I have for myself is that I have a Taekwondo Master in mentorship over me, at least 5th degree, preferably at least 6th degree. I'm starting to put feelers out to look for a mentor. If anyone knows of any groups I should look into, I'd appreciate it. Or if it's something you're interested in helping me out with, please reach out to me. I'd really appreciate it.
Sounds like a good story. What happened? What changed?

JowGaWolf

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
It's straight forward question. I thought you were giving TKD a break.

OP
skribs

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
It's straight forward question. I thought you were giving TKD a break.
A break yes, but not a permanent departure. I'm having similar problems in my day job as I was having in TKD: office politics above me. Hence wanting to go unaffiliated.

Earl Weiss

Senior Master
Reaction score
Sir, your question leads to questions. You want to be "Unaffiliated" yet you want a mentor which means you want to affiliate with someone. Since many might view a Mentor / Mentee relationship as a 2 way street, as opposed to a warm fuzzy feeling what is in it for the Mentor?

bluepanther

Orange Belt
Reaction score