Kinda New to TSD

K

Knifehand

Hey, i just joined the forum and I am a student of TSD. i'm going to a PKSA tournament in march. I am competing in sparring, any advice?

kid

Black Belt
Reaction score
spar as many differnt people as possible. if your are lucky you will get beat a lot. This will greatly add to your experience, also it will make you not want to get hit.

keep your hands up, and elbows in, keep your eye on your opponent. is that what your asking for?

OP
K

Knifehand

pretty much. I figure the only way i can learn something is if i spar Cho Dans. The first time i sparred, i got a really good lesson; a spinning back kick to the face. i lost him (i wasn't wearing my glasses) and his foot appeared in my face. It hurt a little. i was never able to get him back for that. The next time i spar him... i'll get him.

Here is a question. how do try to be deceptive in sparring? and when they go to strike, how do you work their strike to your advantage?

kid

Black Belt
Reaction score
thats right by now you should now the basics thats all yor going to need for this. pay attention to hips, elbows, and knees those are my favorites to see an attack.

cause kid said so

OP
Y

Yossarian75

Look out for how people move(shoulders/hips) just before they kick/punch, eventually you will be able to tell whats coming. Remember to move sideways and not just back and forward. I find with beginners/intermediate it is easy to close in and use punches, just rush them and punch to body and head(If its allowed). Try and create openings in thier gaurd eg strike low to bring thier hands down and quickly strike high. Use combinations.

Code:
Here is a question. how do try to be deceptive in sparring? and when they go to strike, how do you work their strike to your advantage?