Just Realised that Sweeping Kicks are Real and Usable.

KangTsai

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
No backstory for this one, but I have been enlightened and now embrace the sweeping kick. Inside leg roundhouse kick to be exact. Works like a charm to knock an opponent way off balance. It even works to completely make an opponent fall: refer to highlight clips of Jose Aldo vs. Urijah Faber.

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Yes. And it is a terrible way to fall as well. You land really awkward.

Let them check a few times and then fire a shot at their back leg. Can quite often get them over.

Red Sun

Green Belt
Reaction score
I've had some fascinating experiences receiving inside leg kicks from taller fighters.
Absolutely fascinating.

ST1Doppelganger

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Yes as a taller fighter I love sweep kicking variations and will say people don't appreciate them as much as they should.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using Tapatalk

ST1Doppelganger

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Nobody appreciates being swept, Doppleganger. Nobody. :eek:
Yes agreed lol. The choy li fut kung fu I trained in has some nice sweeps in their forms that I've applied in sparring on many occasions.

I just love kicking so naturally sweeps became one of my bread and butter take downs even in judo I preferred otoshi throws along with the other throws that involved using my legs.

ST1Doppelganger

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Yep when I use to spar I'd use the low round house often to disrupt the opponent's balance or sweep him but it's not a thing you get to practice often on your training buddies since it really does suck to get kicked or swept like that.

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Yep when I use to spar I'd use the low round house often to disrupt the opponent's balance or sweep him but it's not a thing you get to practice often on your training buddies since it really does suck to get kicked or swept like that.