is it possible to be a self taught kickboxer ?

8Limbs

White Belt
Reaction score
Sup everyone ? I'm new at martialtalk and have a question to ask all of you who are kickboxers that I've been wonderin 4 a while now.
Is it possible/ok to try to teach yourself the basic muay thai kicks and elbow/knee strikes ? There aren't any schools in Stockton CA that teach it.
I'm really interested in mt b/c its a rare combination of a "real" ma as well as being traditional.
I also exercise alot and am in good shape doing weightliftin and cardio and im more flexible than the avg. person at least so I can already kick over head.
Any replies would be much appreciated.
Peace​

mantis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
8Limbs said:
Sup everyone ? I'm new at martialtalk and have a question to ask all of you who are kickboxers that I've been wonderin 4 a while now.
Is it possible/ok to try to teach yourself the basic muay thai kicks and elbow/knee strikes ? There aren't any schools in Stockton CA that teach it.
I'm really interested in mt b/c its a rare combination of a "real" ma as well as being traditional.
I also exercise alot and am in good shape doing weightliftin and cardio and im more flexible than the avg. person at least so I can already kick over head.
Any replies would be much appreciated.
Peace​
you could hurt yourself easily kicking, i think.
butif you do, please come up with your own style. Stockton california seems like Henan, except it's all desert hehe
play around with this link:
http://local.google.com/maps?q=taekwondo+near+stockton,+ca&hl=en
i already looked for kung fu, karate, and muay thai in stockton, there seems to be quite a bunch.
good luck

OP

8Limbs

White Belt
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply.

I've been kicking my heavy bag for a few sessions now and haven't injured myself cuz I warm up and all.