is it a disadvantage startin judo or jujutsu at age 18?

M

martial artis

if a person is thinkin about joininjudo or jujutsu at the age of 18 would that person be in a disadvantage?

OP
A

AaronLucia

It would be a disadvantage to not start at 18. I just started training about 3 months ago, and i'm 22 now. I wish I had started at 18, or even earlier. :p

Ceicei

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
What is your goal for taking up judo or jujutsu? If your goal is to compete in competitions, then an earlier start may gain more experience. There are competitors who have started when older than 18. If it is just for martial art study, then it really doesn't matter. I started judo at 38. There is a lady in my class who started in her 60's.

If you want to take up judo/jujutsu, go ahead. Don't worry about whether being 18 is a disadvantage and just enjoy training. There is plenty to learn.

- Ceicei

OP
P

Patrick Skerry

I believe the Japanese judo champion Sato began judo at age 15, which was considered late in life especially since he went on to become both a world and All Japan Judo Champion.

Depending on what you want to do with either judo or ju-jutsu, 18 is as good an age as any. At 18, you might find that your learning curve is higher, thus picking up complicated techniques faster and applying them sooner than if you started at 6 or 10 years of age.

There was a guy in my aikido class who was just starting at 50! So better late than never.

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
i started judo and jujitsu at age 18...as long as you're committed...there should be no problems

OP
E

engrchic

I started Jujitsu at the age of 22 and it was the perfect time. Before that, I would not have been ready to dedicate myself so wholeheartedly to my training or fully understand why I was doing it. As long as it is the right time for YOU, it doesn't matter whether you are 18 or 80.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I started BJJ at 39.