I want to open a "full-contact" Shotokan Karate dojo. Need some advice.

Bonk

White Belt
Reaction score
Warning: this is a long post.

Hello everyone! This is my first post.

A little background on me: I am 25 years old and a 1st degree black belt in Shotokan Karate with about 8 years of experience. I also have about 5 years of Taekwondo experience, 3 years of Tang Soo Do experience, and about a year or so worth of boxing practice, in addition to being a certified personal trainer. I have been assistant-teaching Shotokan for a little over 2 years and have some experience being the head instructor for classes.

I intend to open up my own Karate dojo within the next few years or so. However, instead of teaching Shotokan the normal way, I want to teach a simplified version of it where contact fighting is the primary focus, and the techniques being taught are simple and practical. In other words, it will be Shotokan Karate techniques taught in a manner similar to boxing or kickboxing.

As many of you probably know, many Karate/Taekwondo dojos/dojangs use the "look" of the more interesting techniques to draw students in. I, however, want the appeal of my dojo to be the fighting ability and striking power that the student will gain from the training, but without the more intimidating nature of a "fighting" gym (Muay Thai, MMA, Kyokushin, etc). I think that standard Shotokan has a lot of excellent techniques and methods that are unique to it, but also has many superfluous details that I wish to leave out. Above all else, it lacks a lot of the pressure-testing I wish to include. I have even heard several Shotokan senseis tell me in-person that Shotokan practitioners, although highly athletic and skilled in speed/accuracy, "do not hit hard" and "can't take a hit," which I believe is due to the lack of contact fighting and heavy bag work.