I have a dilemma..

adictd2tkdgirl

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I am not sure what to do about this. I was hoping I can get some insight from fellow MAists. It does seem so trivial, but has been affecting my training. The problem is I am falling for my TKD instructor. For all you romantics out there who would say to just go for it..let me begin by saying that there is no way we can be together. This is the only school in my area and I truly love what I am doing. Is there any suggestions anyone can offer so that I can overcome this hurdle...I really wish I didn't feel this way, but we just 'clicked' from the very beginning

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
That's a rough one. As an instructor, I would never date my students... and having had this same discussion with my own instructor, neither would he. Now, I know of people who have done it, and it's worked - and I also know of people who have done it and it's been horrible. Like dating at work, it's something that is problematic, at best. No one wants to think about the potential ending of a relationship - especially before it even starts - but it's something to consider in this case. In addition, you say that you and your instructor "clicked" - how sure are you that this "click" is mutual? I have felt that I "clicked" with people in the past, only to find out that the other person was uninterested, only interested in friendship, involved in another relationship, and, in one case, gay (which has quite a cooling effect on one's emotions when finding out unexpectedly that the guy you think you're attracted to is attracted to the same guys you've been looking at). I would move slowly, if at all - if this is meant to be, it will happen.

Whatever does happen, I wish you luck and happiness.

evenflow1121

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score