How long to receive blackbelt training full time in korea

scott

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi Hapkido practitioners,

Does anyone know a school in korea where it's posible to train full time and receive a black belt?
If so, does anyone know for how long one should train?

I know that a 1st degree blackbelt is more or less considered a beginner, since grading is different in Korea compared to the west.

Please no replies about why I need information about this, or why I want to go to Korea and train.

If anyone knows a school and have some information about this, then I'm very happy to hear from you.

Should note that I'm not a beginner in martial arts, I'm 35 and have trained in other art before - and learned som hapkido for many years ago.

Thanks a lot,

Scott

Kong Soo Do

IKSDA Director
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi Scott.

I'm sure that you would find several Hapkido schools in Korea, depending upon the area/city. As far as how long to earn a BB, that can really vary widely depending upon the school and/or organizational affiliation. In all seriousness, I've seen the time frame of 'getting' (which may differ from earning) a BB in Hapkido from a single weekend all the way to five years (or more). I think the key would be to find one that you feel meets the standards of what you're looking for and then giving it your best.

OP
S

scott

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi Kong Soo Do,

Thanks for your reply. I too have heard of people receiving blackbelts fast, but still a single weekend. OMG...That's terrible. I'm looking to spend around 4-6 month training full time there, to learn enough to be able to go back to my own country and open up a Dojang. There is very few hapkido dojangs where I'm from. My plan then would be to teach, train and go back to Korea at least once a year to continue study and become better. So want to spread the art here.