How don't more people die in Wrestling?

MattofSilat

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I'm no professional wrestler, I don't really know much about wrestling.

One thing I do know is that people die in Rugby. People die in NFL. People die in Boxing. Why do I never hear of people dying in wrestling?

People take knees to the spine, head stamps, drop kicks to the head (How does that NOT give Brain Damage?) and somebody's full body weight concentrated in their elbow thrown right to the skull.

I haven't done my research. But do people die a lot in wrestling and if so, Why is it still like this? If not, HOW?

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I don't know about western wrestling, but in Chinese wrestling, to protect your training partner from injury is your number one responsibility. In tournament, if you "intentionally" try to hurt your opponent, after tournament, your opponent's gang will knock on your door with axes. This is why through Chinese history, nobody get serious injury in Chinese wrestling. It was (and still is) a very safe "sport".

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score

One thing I do know is that people die in Rugby. People die in NFL. People die in Boxing. Why do I never hear of people dying in wrestling?

People take knees to the spine, head stamps, drop kicks to the head (How does that NOT give Brain Damage?) and somebody's full body weight concentrated in their elbow thrown right to the skull.

I haven't done my research. But do people die a lot in wrestling and if so, Why is it still like this? If not, HOW?
People die all the time, but you can thank that ref, for saving peoples brains. :)

ballen0351

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score

You do know it's not real right?

ballen0351

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Actually, they really are throwing each other around, and jumping off the ropes. It is a show, but they really are doing what you see. :)