Hook Flips

K

Kenpo Yahoo

Hey guys, I have a couple of questions about hook flips.

I understand the inherent danger of setting up the hooks (i.e. your opponent backs up and/or circles to pass your guard), but I thought I might ask some of you guys what you're doing with these. I'm pretty new to the ground game, so if I sound stupid it's because I am.

1) How are you guys setting your hooks? I've been going 2 on 1 against my opponent's available arm (wrist and tricep), pushing back with my feet on the front of their pelvis and then pulling back into them to set the hooks. I know that ideally I don't want to open a big gap only to close it again, so how can I set my hooks without pushing back so far?

2) Do you try to set both hooks and switch to whatever side is given, or are you setting one side and using what I call a backdoor flip (not sure if their is a name) if their weight distribution won't allow to pull off the primary hook flip.

Did this make any sense, if not let me know and I'll clarify. This is something that I really want to figure out.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Kenpo Yahoo said:
Hey guys, I have a couple of questions about hook flips.

I understand the inherent danger of setting up the hooks (i.e. your opponent backs up and/or circles to pass your guard), but I thought I might ask some of you guys what you're doing with these. I'm pretty new to the ground game, so if I sound stupid it's because I am.

1) How are you guys setting your hooks? I've been going 2 on 1 against my opponent's available arm (wrist and tricep), pushing back with my feet on the front of their pelvis and then pulling back into them to set the hooks. I know that ideally I don't want to open a big gap only to close it again, so how can I set my hooks without pushing back so far?