Hello!

ZMalfoy

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm relatively new around here-- been lurking a few days, getting some bearings coming forward to introduce myself.

I am just starting out with martial arts-- by which I mean, I haven't decided which school to study under yet. I'm pretty sure I want to go to one of the X-kan schools, but I'm not sure which, yet. . .:hmm:

See, thing is, I'm a total nerd-- I was the girl who used to spend all her free time at the back of the library, reading up on anything remotely interesting (like St. Albertus Magnus' Alchemia, or the best local weeds to make a healing balm with, or. . . you get the idea), especially if it could get her out of gym class. In my early teens, I did enjoy fencing (western), but had to choose between study and fencing shorty after starting with the sabre (I'm still a bit sad over that. I loved smacking people on the head with my sword. . . was fabulous stress relief. . .)

After college (I majored in Vocal Music Education, but loathed the other adults in the educational field so much that I decided to come home to DC and pursue a career as a soulless federal bureaucrat), before I was able to get a job, I wound up getting diagnosed with Stage 4 lymphoma, which not only completely interrupted my plans for life, but totally ended up screwing up the rest of my health. I'd looked at the silver lining of chemo-- "Hey, I'll finally loose those few pounds I've been wanting to get rid of!"-- only to find that I was one of those people that wouldn't loose weight even under the harsh treatment I was put under for a year. In addition, the steroids they used to "buck up my system"-- they bucked up a system that didn't need assistance, so I gained a ton of weight. After the year of chemo and a solid month of radiation. . . I was cancer free, but in horrid shape otherwise.