Hand Injuries - Minimizing with Hand Guards?

Rumy73

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello Everyone. I am feeling a bit low recently. I was helping a 13-year old student with sparring, and, while exercising very light contact, his hand either struck my knee or foot, which resulted in a broken finger. I felt terrible. I know the child and his parents, whom I talked to afterwards.

Anyhow, I think there's a safety issue being overlooked and would like to hear your opinions. I am new at the school and one thing I noticed, that is different from every other school of which I have been a part, is that students do not wear any hand protection. I talked to the Master about this situation, and he was irritated by my suggestion that the injury could have been prevented or been lesser if the student had hand protection. His take was that I needed to "be more careful" which I thought was a poor assessment. I was moving slowly and carefully. The student's use of a low block and the bad luck of where my body was at that moment resulted in the injury. Personally, I wear gloves and made the suggestion to the student's parents, despite the Master's position. I have been kicked in the hands a lot over the years. It makes sense this would happen, as the hands are out in front. I cannot understand his aversion to hand guards for youth students.

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Eh... it's a contact sport. He could've broken it playing basketball in his driveway or at the park just as easily.

i understand your concerns & position, but really, nothing you could've done & nothing to feel guilty about. As long as you didn't blast him, you're fine. The teacher is a bit off with his response IMO.

But seriously, you're good to go.

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score
These things happen. Its good that youre concerned, but noone is at fault. Ive broken toes from kicking an arm, and that was neither my fault nor his. It just happens with contact.