First time

SAMTAZ717

White Belt
Reaction score
Helloo every one. I was wondering if there are any people that get together every now and again in groups to train. I am a beginner, have never tried wing chun and would like to try it out. Burbank, california

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
You may get lucky and find someone who just wants to get together and show you what Wing Chun is about, but it seems to me the easiest way would be to seek out formal instruction in it. In my experience groups of martial artists who "get together" from diverse systems are usually instructors who have developed a relationship over the years with others in their peer groups that are looking to train at their own level and to expand their horizons. It usually isn't something they advertise.

oftheherd1

Senior Master
Reaction score
Good advice from Blindside. But it might be worth asking around the members of the school where you train as well.

Anyway, welcome to MT. I'm sure you will enjoy it here.

wingchun100

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm sure if you went to a class, you would make friends with other students and be able to get together with them outside of class.

Roger Tyson

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I agree. I think there is so much "my style" and "your style", people forget that we are individuals and the only style perfect for you is not created by someone else.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
I agree. I think there is so much "my style" and "your style", people forget that we are individuals and the only style perfect for you is not created by someone else.

Most everyone I have run into who actually tried to create their own system without a strong base in some existing art have pretty much sucked.

Takai

Senior Master
Reaction score
Most everyone I have run into who actually tried to create their own system without a strong base in some existing art have pretty much sucked.