Currently training boxing 5 times/week. Want to incorporate BJJ. Gi or No-Gi?

DFe

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm looking to start BJJ next week. I currently do boxing 5 times a week, and I want to swap 2 days of boxing for BJJ. My question is: should I do one day Gi and one day No-Gi? Or should I do two days Gi or two days No-Gi? Also, should the two BJJ training days be back-to-back or should I space them out between boxing training?

I know dedicating two days out of a week for BJJ training is not a lot, and I assume many will suggest doing BJJ more frequently. However, I am quite new to boxing as well (1 month in) and I want to gain progression in both striking and grappling so I figured combining both would be a good idea.

Again, I am a complete beginner to BJJ, and your input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

OP
D

DFe

White Belt
Reaction score
What are your goals?
Just to be ready for a street fight at any time. I don't intend to go amateur or pro in either discipline but I'd like to get really good at fighting. I'm willing to take on training for years as I've grew a really strong interest for it.

OP
D

DFe

White Belt
Reaction score
Gi - winter time combat skill.
No Gi - summer time combat skill.

You will need both.
Should the one Gi session and one No Gi sesion be back-to-back or should I space them out between boxing training?
For example: [Tue: boxing, Wed: boxing, Thurs: boxing, Fri: Gi, Sat: No Gi] or [Tue: boxing, Wed: Gi, Thurs: boxing, Fri: No Gi, Sat: boxing]

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Should the one Gi session and one No Gi sesion be back-to-back or should I space them out between boxing training?
For example: [Tue: boxing, Wed: boxing, Thurs: boxing, Fri: Gi, Sat: No Gi] or [Tue: boxing, Wed: Gi, Thurs: boxing, Fri: No Gi, Sat: boxing]
I will suggest to start with no Gi first. The moment that you have built up your Gi dependency, it's difficult to switch to no Gi.