Confidence in Martial Arts Abilities!

Tony

Black Belt
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone lacks confidence in their skills as Martial Artists when it comes to potential threats! I know that I try to avoid areas where violent confrontations are common or where it is a probable! I void certain pubs in my home town because of their reputations, although my friends go there on a friday or saturday night!
Even though I have been learning Kung fu for 5 years but the thought of getting into a fight does somewhat scare me! I know that because I practice a Martial art I ought to be more confident ( well thats what one of my friends says) but I will avoid it at all costs! And although I feel ashamed I think I would also have no courage at all if one of my relatives or friends were being attacked!
I don't enter tournaments and we haven't done a lot of sparring! but I enjoy the training! Unfortunately My instructor only runs 2 classes a week! I wish it could be more but the other classes he had to suspend due to lack of interest!
Well all your thoughts would be appreciated!

B

Black Bear

Well then I guess the training you're getting at that studio isn't doing very well at preparing you for street violence. If that's important to you, then consider training elsewhere. I have some of my personal views on that in the thread "What martial art to train in" under General Martial Arts Discussions. Other people have posted their views there as well.

Do continue to do something the same way over and over, and expect to get a different result, is insanity.

The second issue is wanting to avoid violence, staying away from places where you are at a high risk, etc. Most every reasonable person does that. Beating someone down can be a big hassle. You could get knifed. You could get legal hassles. And hey, if you beat the tar out of someone, and walk away unaffected... what have you gained?