Concept Vs. Technique

Z

zac_duncan

Here's something that's been buzzing around inside my head for a while and I'd love to get some input from all of you rather knowledgable (and opinionated) folks on the board.

In my training, I've been exposed to two very, very different approaches to teaching. One wich emphasized the learning of techniques another which seems to emphasize conceptual learning as a path to "discovery" of techniques. I want to stress here that this was my personal response to these methods and that I'm in no way criticizing anyone else's approach. I'm merely stating how I responded to these methods and looking for input on how others have learned.

In the early stages of my training, I studied Kuk Sool Won and the techniques were taught in very tight and direct sets. It was nice because everyone at a certain level knew X techniques and nothing more. It ensured that you were taught the complete program. With good instruction you would learn the underlying concepts, but often it seemed that this type of instruction lead to rote memorization and static practice. Resultingly, my ability to improvise was somewhat stifled.

In my post KSW training, I've had the opportunity to work on occasion with Master Babcock. When working with him, he rarely, if ever, teaches a technique so much as teaching a concept and showing how this concept relates to technique. In practicing these concepts I often find myself executing techniques which I have not been formally taught, because the movement simply flowed there. In this way, my improvisational skills have increased greatly and the art feels more "alive" to me. However, I often find it difficult to catalog what it is that I know. My understanding has much more depth, but I find it hard to guage the breadth of this knowledge. This isn't to say that I don't still learn static techniques sets, I do, but this type of training is much less frequent than the conceptual, more "outside of the box" aspects of training.