Closing shop...

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Well, I finally made the decision to stop teaching. This will be the second time for me. I left my first sifu after a dozen years or so back in the 90s. After a long time away from martial arts, I came back to Wing Chun in the fall of '07 ...about the same time I joined this forum. At the urging of my instructor, in 2009 I began teaching again with a small group at a YMCA. Then we added weekend classes at a local park, and finally begin renting space, first at a dance studio and then at a nearby boxing gym.

Well, It's been fun ...mostly, and I did bring a few guys up through the ranks to instructor level, but as enrollment stayed low, and rent, insurance, and association dues kept going up, a lot of the joy faded away. Meanwhile, the workload at my day-job has increased (though not the pay -- I'm a high school teacher). So this month I moved out of the gym, stopped paying the association dues, and stopped accepting new students.

I'm still training a couple of the core group of guys privately, and I'm thinking about trying to find time to do some other things in my life too. I'll be 64 this summer, and maybe it's time for some younger guys to shoulder the burden and carry the torch for a while.

hoshin1600

Senior Master
Reaction score
Wishing you the best.

I often think as martial artists we tend to shoulder all the responsibility for a school and teaching. I feel this is a mistake. I have been associated with 2 schools that when the teacher stopped and closed up shop, the students carried on. These schools have been on their own for 20 to 30 years now with help of course from associations and such. But I feel as teachers we could set up schools that will out last us. The dojo should be it's own living entity as long as people show up to train.

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score