Carpul Tunnel

Gabby Pavia

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I'm just getting started with kyuki-do. I have carpul tunnel syndrome in both of my wrists and I was wondering if that might be a problem when I start using my wrists more for hitting, blocking, etc...? I get pain when I do repetitive twisting, so I can't crochet anymore. Do you think this may present a problem? Is kyuki-do right for someone who has this kind of problem? Should I try a different kind of martial art? What are your thoughts on this? Look forward to your comments.
Gabby

Inferno

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I also have Carpal Tunnel in both my wrists (I'm a geeky system administrator, among other things). Although I'm not familiar with the art form your taking up, usually exercising and stretching the wrist will help make carpal tunnel better.

Repetitive actions (such as crocheting like you stated in another post) will cause calcium to build up in your wrist causing the syndrome. This means if you did practice the same punch over and over, it may cause some soreness so I'd recommend just doing a variety of punches to keep it somewhat random to prevent any pain because I know it sucks.

So as long as you overdue the same action without switching or taking a break, you should be fine. This of course depends upon the severity of your carpal tunnel, mine is absolutely atrocious.

-Inferno

Lisa

Don't get Chewed!
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Moderator Note:

Thread moved to Health Tips to generate better responses.

Lisa Deneka
MartialTalk Super Moderator

OP
G

Gabby Pavia

White Belt
Reaction score
I also have Carpal Tunnel in both my wrists (I'm a geeky system administrator, among other things). Although I'm not familiar with the art form your taking up, usually exercising and stretching the wrist will help make carpal tunnel better.