Can you tell me anything about the logic behind chambering punches?

amateur

Orange Belt
Reaction score
My background is more westernized. I have tried practicing punches in the eastern style (hands in chamber position) and I really couldn't see what's so special about it. Many guys that practice MMA agree that it's useless. Nevertheless, I did some research and absorbed some info about the science behind chamber practice. I'd like to hear your opinion too. If you think it's worth including some eastern punches in my workout, what are your arguments?

dvcochran

Grandmaster
Reaction score
My background is more westernized. I have tried practicing punches in the eastern style (hands in chamber position) and I really couldn't see what's so special about it. Many guys that practice MMA agree that it's useless. Nevertheless, I did some research and absorbed some info about the science behind chamber practice. I'd like to hear your opinion too. If you think it's worth including some eastern punches in my workout, what are your arguments?
I do think there is value in the practice. It is simply the mechanics behind making power using as much of the body as possible. I know the arguments but if you watch any of the classic knockouts on film nearly all of them are more than a segmented arm or arm/shoulder punch. I think most of the rub comes down to styles of practice and "not wanting to do things the old ways". A word of caution; you need someone to properly teach you how to perform the "eastern" punch. There is a lot more to it than you may think. IMHO
Welcome to the forum. Let us know more about what you are doing. There is a lot of great knowledge here.

CB Jones

Senior Master
Reaction score

Yes chambering is just loading up your punch to generate more power. Helps maximize power by creating good weight distribution and acceleration in the punch.

Hanzou

Grandmaster
Reaction score