Breathing in Kata

S

Shuri-te

I would like to find out how people breath when they practice kata. Can anyone share some ideas.

In the Shotokan dojos I train in, the breathing is masked. I was told this comes from the sword arts, where transitions in breathing become openings. Therefore, it is best not to reveal your breathing pattern. The mouth is kept closed and effort is made not to flare the nostrils. The goal is to master and control your breath.

When I studied with an Okinawan master who trained under Shigeru Nakamura, I learned to inhale and exhale crisply and audibly on every technique to maximize power.

I have my own approach which I can share, but would like to learn how others breath in kata.

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I tend to breath rather loudly when doing sanchin.
It depends on the form and fromwhich background it comes from because I have some where the breathing is soft ( almost like tai chi ) and others where evey movement (block-punch,trow) is an explosive movement of air.
I breath in through the nose and out through the mouth but I have herd there are systems that do it just the other way

OP
R

Rick Tsubota

Originally posted by Shuri-te

When I studied with an Okinawan master who trained under Shigeru Nakamura, I learned to inhale and exhale crisply and audibly on every technique to maximize power.

Who is that master?

OP
R

Rick Tsubota

Teruyuki Higa in Hempstead NY in 1988.

I remember Higa and Mr.Oyata didn't exactly get along in Okinawa and Mr. Oyata called him out but Higa never accepted the challenge. I also remember reading in The Japan Times about Higa being charged in New York for raping a woman that was wearing a T-Shirt with a photo of Mr. Oyata on it but the case was thrown out because a detective introduced evidence incorrectly.

OP
S

Shuri-te

Rick Tsubota said: