Being pushed hard to promote

Greg King

Green Belt
Reaction score
My son is a red belt right now(as of end of march),and a very well trained Martial Artist ,the blackbelts at his school are pushing him very hard to promote in november to blackbelt,and even invited him to free private lessons on sunday to prepare him.Just curious to know, is it normal to promote to blackbelt in under a year. I'm not bragging just curious why they want it to happen so quick.:idunno: Including teaching at the park district on thursdays he now has 11 classes of MA a week :asian:

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Gregg in my own opinion a year to soon to be a Black belt, I have been training for forty years and in that time the earliest I've seen has been two and a half, my question for you is why are they in a hurry. What is in it for them? next question how old is your son? Has he done another style and does he fully understand all the application to your system and if not then it is your finale say weather he test or not!

My last bit here my oldest has been training since he was two and it took him until 9 to get his poom BB from me (Kukkiwn) and that was 7 years of training. He is good but even he could not learn eveything one year and I own my school, I would be worring just a lttle and ask question to why are they in a hurry and see what happens.
Terry

Brother John

Senior Master
Reaction score
Greg King said:
My son is a red belt right now(as of end of march),and a very well trained Martial Artist ,the blackbelts at his school are pushing him very hard to promote in november to blackbelt,and even invited him to free private lessons on sunday to prepare him.Just curious to know, is it normal to promote to blackbelt in under a year. I'm not bragging just curious why they want it to happen so quick.:idunno: Including teaching at the park district on thursdays he now has 11 classes of MA a week :asian: