Beginner Wing Chun: Help with reflexes

Beholdthecoma

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been practicing Wing Chun only for three weeks, I'm really enjoying it and I'm picking up the positions and memorising movements okay, but I'm not reacting quick enough whilst sparring. Our sifu was showing us during chi sau for one to try to chop the opponents neck, but for the opponent to block with the opposite hand, and slide their forearm towards the attackers neck whilst pulling the attacking hand towards him for extra force. I could perform the counter during the slow demonstration, but when it came to sparring I just couldnt react quick enough, and i found it happening with other counters during sparring too. Is there anything I can do outside of lessons to help better my reflexes?

sorry if my descriptions are a little vague, I admit I am a complete beginner and terminology is also something I've yet to grasp.

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score
You've been at it for only 3 weeks. Give it time.

You haven't had time to practice anything long enough to commit it to muscle memory. By putting your feet to the fire so early in your training, there is no way you are going to react properly. You are either going to tense up and try to muscle your way through it, or if you've had any previous training, you will revert back to that.

As for is there anything you can do outside of class to better your reflexes? Yes, practice. Make the moves as natural to you as reaching out and flicking on a light switch. It's going to take time and a lot of effort...that's why they call it kung fu.

OP
B

Beholdthecoma

White Belt
Reaction score